01 / 01
Architecture buro



Preselection – Sounds of Silences

Jul , 11
Preselection – Sounds of Silences

Sounds of Silences6 trasp Picc

Sounds of Silences 2017
competition of musical composition for the moving image
Pre-selection Results  


The Edison Studio collective, with the support of the Italian Society of Authors and Publishers (SIAE) for the project SIAE – Classics of Today, and with the collaboration of the Cineteca di Bologna (Film Archive of Bologna) and the Romaeuropa Festival 2017, announces the results of Sounds of Silences 2017 – International Competition of Musical Composition for the Moving Image.

128 participants from 32 countries submitted their compositions to the “Sounds of Silences 2017″.

An international jury consisting of Simon Atkinson (composer and lecturer at Media School, DMU University Leicester, U.K.), Bret Battey (composer, visual artist, and reader at Media School, DMU University Leicester, U.K.), Andrew Bentley (composer and professor of Music Technology at Sibelius Academy, Helsinki), Anders Mattias Bye (composer, pianist and author of soundtracks for silent movies), Giulio Latini (Professor of Multimedia Communication at Università di Tor Vergata – Rome), Kent Olofsson (composer and professor at Inter Arts Center – Lund University, Svezia), Paolo Pachini (composer. video-artist and professor of audiovisual composition at Conservatory of Music – Trieste), Barry Truax (composer and professor at Simon Fraser University Vancouver, Canada) have selected five finalists among the entrants, who will be invited to create a soundtrack for a medium-length movie from the silent films chosen by Edison Studio in collaboration with the Cineteca di Bologna. That original soundtrack must be completed and sent to the organizers by October 20, 2017.

We send our congratulations to the five finalists of ”Sounds of Silences 2017″ competition:
Myriam Boucher  (film assigned “Paleface”)
Ludovico Failla  (film assigned “The Goat”)
Fabrizio Giraudo  (film assigned “High Sign”)
Xavier Madore  (film assigned “Cops”)
Gabriele Paolozzi  (film assigned “Neighbors”)

A special Honorable Mention goes to 9 participants because of the high quality of their works:
Francesco Altilio (E-cor ensemble), Michele Andreotti, Roberto Di Ciaccio, Riccardo La Chioma, Amirabbas Mohammadi, Carlos Núñez Medina, Demian Rudel Rey, Sebastiano Trombatore, Anacleto Vitolo.

An international jury consisting of Monique Veaute (the president of the jury and the president of Romaeuropa art and culture foundation), Alvin Curran (composer), Andrea Ravagnan (Cineteca di Bologna), Andrew Bentley (composer) and Giulio Latini (Multimedia Communication professor at “Tor Vergata” University of Rome), will award cash prizes to three among the finalists during a public event scheduled for 28th of October as part of RomaEuropa Festival 2017 at Macro Testaccio La Pelanda, Rome.
During that event, dedicated to Buster Keaton’s movies, all the 5 soundtracks will be presented in sync with the films to the audience and the jury.

All of us at “Sounds of Silences 2017” are very grateful to all members of the jury for their excellent work.
Looking forward to seeing you in Rome on 28 October 2017.

For more information: soundsofsilences@edisonstudio.it

competition regulations 2017

Subscribe to the newsletter

Edison Studio - Privacy policy © EdisonStudio 2020.
All Rights Reserved.